Victorian Youth Congress | Youth Central

About Youth Congress

Young people from across Victoria are making their voices heard as members of the Victorian Youth Congress - an advisory group of young people aged 12 to 24 who are working with government to advise the Victorian Government on issues affecting young Victorians, highlighting areas of concern and shaping government policies, programs and services. Members of Youth Congress come from different backgrounds and areas across Victoria. They also bring diverse skills and experience to Youth Congress deliberations.

2019 Youth Congress

The Youth Congress members for 2019 include young people from Aboriginal, LGBTI and culturally diverse backgrounds, as well as young people living with a disability.

Members are aged between 13 and 24 and hail from both Melbourne and regional Victoria. 

Youth Congress members

Alistair Portaminni Lynch – Bonbeach
Azraf Ezaz – Mount Waverley
Bri Hines – Myrtleford
Catherine Dunn – Heathmont
Charli Ogden – Leongatha South
Cordelia Attenborough – Clayton
Daniel Etzion – Hawthorn East
Eksath Bhareti – Templestowe Lower
Harini Kasthuriarachchi – Croydon
Heather Shieh – Glen Waverley
Jack Smith – Mildura
Kergen Angel – North Melbourne
Lachlan Houen – Armstrong Creek
Lily Trethowan – Plumpton
Nicole Comelli – Keilor Downs
Otis Heffernan-Wooden – Montrose
Shakur Abdi – Lyndhurst
Tessa Jenkins – Moe South
Yusra Hasan – Tarneit

The Youth Summit and Youth Congress are two flagship projects from the Victorian Government’s Youth Policy: Building Stronger Youth Engagement in Victoria

More information

If you have any questions about the Victorian Youth Congress, please contact Mark Hobbs, the Office for Youth at or on (03) 9096 1392.